Chip in to protect our blue firewall!

If we want to stop the Republicans' dangerous agenda, defend reproductive rights, and protect our democracy, we have to keep pace with the GOP's millions in fundraising. Please don’t wait: rush your gift to elect Dem govs >>

Democratic Governors Lead the Charge on Calling for Voting Rights Reform

From the Chair’s Desk

As they stand as the last line of defense to protect the right to vote in their states, Democratic governors are fighting for voting rights reform on the national level. Today, Democratic governors penned a letter urging the Senate to pass the Freedom to Vote Act and the John R. Lewis Voting Rights Advancement Act.

16 governors signed on to the letter — Govs. Whitmer, Evers, Cooper, Newsom, Hochul, Brown, Wolf, Inslee, Lujan Grisham, Murphy, Sisolak, Pritzker, Lamont, Carney, Polis, Ige, and Walz.

The letter said, “Without decisive action by the federal government this year to protect voters’ access to the ballot and ensure the integrity and transparency of our elections, the voices of Americans across the country, especially Americans of color, will be suppressed.”

Whether they’re stopping the GOP’s schemes to suppress the vote and undermine democracy, or expanding access to the ballot box, Democratic governors have been pivotal in protecting Americans’ right to vote. Govs like Tony Evers and Tom Wolf have already taken critical action blocking Republican-backed voter suppression bills, while Govs. Steve Sisolak, J.B. Pritzker, Phil Murphy, and Janet Mills have signed legislation to make voting easier.

“Whether it’s protecting voting rights, reproductive rights, or fighting climate change, Democratic governors are building the blueprint in their states for the kind of progressive changes being discussed at the federal level,” said DGA Communications Director David Turner. “Taking action and getting things done on the issues that matter most to working families is what Democratic governors do best. The solutions to these critical challenges will absolutely be on the ballot in governors races in 2022.”